The ASUAF Senate

The ASUAF Senate is the Legislative component of the student government. It is comprised of 14 student senators which are elected by the student body each semester (7 in Fall and 7 in Spring). The presiding officer of the Senate is the Senate Chair, whose office is primarily responsible for facilitating debate with the Senate as well as setting the agenda for each meeting. Four senators also chair over the Standing Committees of the Senate, which are dedicated specific components that encompass the many different aspects of ASUAF. The Senate Chair and all Standing Committee chairs are elected to their offices by the Senate at the first Senate meeting of the academic year.