History of ASUAF

The first students stepped on what was then the Alaska College of Agriculture and School of Mines in 1922. These six students with their seven faculty members, formed a bond as being the original members of a student body that was dedicated to higher education and looking out for one another. As more students enrolled, this camaraderie between them grew enough to form their own student run organization in 1923. They named themselves the Associated Students of the University of Alaska, and chose John Sexton Shanly as their first Student Body President. The student government was present during the expansion of the student population under UA President William Wood and served as a valuable asset to the university administration regarding student issues and student engagement. ASUA was present while the Alaska State Constitution was being drafted in 1956 in what would become Constitution Hall, then the student union building. The student government was also instrumental in getting various buildings and programs established for the benefit of the student body including the Wood Center, Student Recreation Center, and and Student Support Services. In recent years, the student government had to change their name due to the expansion of campuses throughout Alaska and have added ‘Fairbanks’ to specify the constituency that we currently represent. The Associated Students of the University of Alaska Fairbanks is currently comprised of all students taking at least 3 credits or more, run by a student executive and legislative branch dedicated to investigating and advocating student issues, for the betterment of all students on and off campus. You can come by the office during open hours (located in the Wood Center by the arcade), or contact any of the ASUAF officials to ask questions, submit a grievance, or to learn how to get more involved on campus.